2017 Caged Minds Awards

It’s been a historic, busy year for combat sports and I’m happy to announce the 2017 Caged Minds Awards winners. This week with the continued growth in MMA we’ve added some more categories. My decision where hard but they have been made. Here’s the 2017 Caged Minds Combat Sports Awards.

Big Leauge MMA Awards

UFC Male Fighter of 2017

UFC Male Fighter of 2017- Max Holloway 2-0 won & defended UFC Featherweight title against former champion Jose Aldo/ Rafael Dos Anjos 3-0 the former Lightweight champion moved up a weight class scored all 3 of his wins came against top 15 ranked opposition

Bellator Male Fight of 2017

Bellator Male Fighter of 2017- AJ McKee 4-0. 1 KO 1 Sub, 2 decisions was the most active fighter on the roster

LFA Male Fighter of 2017

LFA Male Fighter of 2017- Robert Watley 3-0, 2-0 in LFA, Won the LFA title w/ a unanimous decision over Thiago Moises and defended it w/ a TKO of Daryl Wilson

UFC Women’s Fighter of 2017

UFC Women’s Fighter of 2017- Cris “Cyborg” Santos 2-0, Won the vacant UFC Women’s Featherweight title by TKO of Tonya Evinger & defended it by unanimous decision over Holly Holm solidifying herself as the top WMMA fighter of all time

Bellator Women’s Fighter of 2017

Bellator Women’s Fighter of 2017- Ilima-Lei MacFarlane 2-0, this year submitting Jessica Middelton & Emily Ducote, the later earned “The Ilimanator” the acclaim of becoming the inaugural Bellator Women’s Flyweight champion.

LFA Women’s Fighter of 2017

LFA Women’s Fighter of 2017 Andrea Lee the LFA Women’s Flyweight champion went 3-0 in the year, 2-0 in LFA winning the LFA title submitting Heather Bassett & defending it by submitting Jamie Thorton

Breakthrough Fighter of 2017

Break Through fighter of 2017- Nicco Montano 4-0, 1st ever UFC Women’s Flyweight champion. Won 3 exhibition fights on TUF 26, and defeated Roxanne Modafferi by unanimous decision in the finals

Upset of 2017

Upset of 2017- Rose Namajunas def. Joanna Jedrzejczyk at UFC 217

Event of the 2017

Event of 2017- UFC 218 the t2o fights of the year, knock out punch of the year, and co fighter of the year on the card

Top Knockouts of 2017

Punch KO of 2017- Francis Ngannou def. Overeem UFC 218
Rafael Carvalho def. Melvin Manhoef Bellator 176
Knee KO of 2017- Paul Daley def. Brennan Ward Bellator 170
Elbow of 2017- Gaston Balanos def Rick Gutierrez Bellator 189

Best Submission of 2017

Submission of 2017- Demetrous Johnson def. Ray Borg toss up an armbar UFC 216

Comeback win of 2017

Comeback win of 2017- Darren Elkins def. Mirsad Bektic UFC 209

Fight of 2017

Fight of 2017-  Alex Oliveira vs. Yancy Medeiros & Justin Gaethje vs. Eddie Alvarez both brawls from UFC 218


New Mexico MMA Awards
Male MMA Fighter of 2017

New Mexico MAle MMA Fighter of 2017 Harvey Park went 3-0 knockouts of Brandon Trujillo and Roberto Corvo, plus submitting Majdeddine Ayadi

New Mexico Male Breakthrough Fighter of 2017

2017 local Male Break through fighter- Andres Quintana 3-0 decision wins over Erick Sanchez & Saul Levy, plus submitting Rey Trujillo

New Mexico Female Breakthrough Fighter of 2017 & New Mexico Big League Fighter of 2017, & New Mexico Female Fighter of 2017

icco Montano 4-0, 1st ever UFC Women’s Flyweight champion. Won 3 exhibition fights on TUF 26, and defeated Roxanne Modafferi by unanimous decision in the finals

Amateur MMA Fighter of 2017

Amateur MMA Fighter of 2017- Chris Cortez (5-0 2 KO’s, &1 sub in 2017)

NM MMA Event of 2017– JacksonWink Fight Night 2

MMA Event of 2017- JacksonWink Fight Night 2, 11 fight card. 5 amateur contest & 6 professional. 9 finishes. Chris Brown made his pro debut. A bloody war between Cody East and Tony Lopez, Both then pro and amateur knock outs of the year for New Mexico.Damacio Page won by stoppage in the main event. 

NM Pro KO of 2017

NM Pro KO of 2017- Wilfredo Santigao def. Omar Acosta JacksonWink Fight Night 2

NM Pro Sub of 2017

NM Pro Sub of 2017- Harvey Park def. Majdeddine Ayadi by submission (rear naked choke) 4:05 R1 JacksonWink Fight Night 2

Pro Fight of 2017

Pro Fight of 2017- Roy Saucedo def. Ernesto Salvidez at Jackson’s MMA Series XXIII

Amateur KO of 2017

Amateur KO of 2017- Ozzy Chavez def Daniel Nieto at JacksonWink Fight Night 2

Amateur Sub of 2017

Amateur Sub of 2017- Christopher Cortez def. Bryan Linares by submission (modified americana) 0:58 R1 at Jackson’s MMA Series XXI

Amateur Fight of 2017

Amateur fight of 2017- Nicco Nathan vs Sterling Peak at KOTC Chosen Few


New Mexico Boxing Awards
New Mexico Boxer of 2017

Boxer of 2017- Jose Osorio, His KO of Ricky Vasquez was spectacular and a win in a even fight. The win year Roman Reynoso was one of the only wins by an underdog on the New Mexico boxing scene all year.,

Knock out of 2017, Come from behind win of 2017, Fight of 2017

– Matthew Esquibel def. Christopher Russell at Battle for the Brave

Card of 2017

Legacy Boxing Battle for the Brave several hard fought and closer then expected contests with a very good main event. Also had fight, come back, and knock out of the year.

Upset of 2017

Upset of 2017- Jose Osorio (9-3-1) def. Ramon Raynoso (20-1) by split decision at Holmes Boxing Countries Collide

Biggest Balls Award

Gene Perez in the Ring or the Cage willing to fight anyone anywhere

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *