Simply Results UFC 271

The Toyota Center in Houston Texas hosts UFC 271.  The 1-fight card is headlined by a Middleweight world title rematch as “The Last Style Bender” Isreal Adesanya defends against “Bobby Knuckles” Robert Whittaker.

The champion comes in unbeaten at 185 lbs. ruling over the division after three successful title defenses ready for the challenge of beating the “Reaper” for a second time. At 243 Adesanya took the title from the Whittaker by second round knockout. The rechanrged his batteries and has ran off three straight wins to earn his rematch. 

The co-main event features the record holder for most knockouts in UFC history, Houston’s own Derrick “The Black Beast” Lewis against Australian Slugger, Tai Tuivasa who’s won three in a row. 

UFC 271 PPV Main Card on ESPN+ (10 p.m. ET):

  • UFC Middleweight Title: (Champ) Israel Adesanya (22-1) def. Robert Whittaker (23-6) by (49-46, 48-47 x2) unanimous decision 
  • Heavyweight: Tai Tuivasa (15-2) def. Derrick Lewis (26-9) by KO (elbow) 1:40 R2
  • Middleweight: Jared Cannonier (15-5) def. Derek Brunson (23-8) by KO (ground strikes) R3 
  • Lightweight: Renato Moicano (16-4-1) def. Alexander Hernandez (13-5) by submission (rear naked choke) 1:23 R2
  • Lightweight: Bobby Green (29-12-1) def. Nasrat Haqparast (13-5) by (30-27 x3) unanimous decision 

UFC 271 ‘Prelims’ Card on ESPN/ESPN+ (8 p.m. ET):

  • Heavyweight: Andrei Arlovski (33-20) def. Jared Vanderaa (12-7) by (29-28, 28-29, 29-28) split decision 
  • Women’s Flyweight: Casey O’Neill (9-0) def. Roxanne Modafferi (25-20) by (29-28, 28-29, 29-28) split decision 
  • Bantamweight: Kyler Phillips (10-2) def. Marcelo Rojo (16-8) by submission (armbar) 1:48 R3 
  • Light-Heavyweight: Carlos Ulberg (4-1) def. Fabio Cherant (7-4) by (30-27 x3) unanimous decision 

UFC 271 Early ‘Prelims’ Card on Fight Pass/ESPN+ (6 p.m. ET):

  • Bantamweight: Ronnie Lawrence (8-1) def. Mana Martinez (9-3) by (29-28, 29-27 x2) unanimous decision 
  • Middleweight: Jacob Malkoun (6-1) def. AJ Dobson (6-1) by (29-28 x3) unanimous decision 
  • Bantamweight: Douglas Silva de Andrade (28-4) def. Sergey Morozov (17-5) by submission (rear naked choke) 3:42 R2
  • Welterweight: Jeremiah Wells (10-2-1) def. Mike Mathetha (3-1) by submission (rear naked choke) 4:38 R1 
  • Heavyweight: Maxim Grishin (32-9-2) def. William Knight (11-3) by (30-27 x3) unanmious decision 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *